top of page

A tricky topic: Women in Science


Women in Science - I am one, so I guess I should have something to say?

I am often asked to write or talk about being a woman in science and I always get nervous! I mean, I've never been a Man in Science, so it's hard to separate my own experience as a scientist into 'impacted by' or 'not impacted by' being a Woman.

When interviewed by the University of Oxford's Science Blog for their 'Woman in Science' series, I wanted to highlight the need for senior academics to treat everyone as an individual, whenever possible. I know from my own job that it can be hard, but as much as than man vs woman, there are other important things to focus on too.

Here is the article on the University website.

Picture: I was filmed by That's Oxfordshire TV to talk about challenges for Women in Science.

bottom of page